Unlucky 7 shows Kentucky Wildcats’ SEC struggles

| August 27, 2014 | 0 Comments

Photo by Jason Marcum

Photo by Jason Marcum

The Kentucky Wildcats haven’t won an SEC game in two years. What’s even more amazing than that debilitating stat is that only seven current Cats were part of UK’s last SEC win.

The Cats last won an SEC contest in the final game of 2011: A miraculous 10-7 win over Tennessee with wide receiver Matt Roark making his first and only career start at quarterback.

Here’s the full list of Kentucky players who have appeared in a SEC win, courtesy of Jon Hale.

Tyler Brause — Ole Miss (2011)
Christian Coleman — Ole Miss (2011), Tennessee (2011)
Eric Dixon — Ole Miss (2011), Tennessee (2011)
Mike Douglas — Ole Miss (2011), Tennessee (2011)
Bud Dupree — Ole Miss (2011), Tennessee (2011)*
Ashely Lowery — Ole Miss (2011), Tennessee (2011)
Darrian Miller — Ole Miss (2011), Tennessee (2011)
Demarco Robinson — Tennessee (2011)
Ronnie Shields — Ole Miss (2011)
D.J. Warren — Ole Miss (2011), Tennessee (2011)

What’s even more amazing about this list is only 3 of those players may play significant snaps in UK’s Week 1 gave vs. UT Martin. DJ Warren is the No. 1 FB, but Neal Brown’s offense uses more 3 and 4-WR sets that don’t use a FB.

Darrian Miller will be suspended Week 1, which could be a relief, considering how many former Joker Phillips recruits Mark Stoops has booted off the team after they’ve either gotten in trouble, or didn’t ‘buy in’ to Stoops’ plan.


Want to continue this Kentucky Wildcats  discussion? Then be sure to check out the KSC Forums

Subscribe to our RSS feed to always be in the know.

Like us on Facebook.

Follow @JasonB_Marcum

Follow @KySportsConnect

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: KSC Blog

Leave a Reply

Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com